Book Review: Me Before You (Spoiler Alert!)

(c) google

If you are not yet done reading Me Before You or you’re just about to read it, close this tab now because I don’t wanna spoil anything for you. 

I’m not entirely sure if this is going to be a decent review or if it’s just going to be me, expressing my frustration out of the brokenness that this book has brought me. I loved this book, that’s for sure. I loved how it was written. I loved how it widened my imagination. I loved how the characters were well described. It felt like I have known them for a long time. The way it was written made it easier for me to connect to each character.

It’s been over 12 hours now since I finished the book and I’m still emotional. I read the last 95 pages whilst listening to “Ulay Oh” by Adonis and it was the biggest mistake I’ve done this year so far because it added another layer of sadness to the story.

Trying her best to forget him.
Trying her best just to keep her stride.
Ulay, Ulay, Oh.
Ulay, Ulay, Oh.
There they were like the picture.
There they were, they were just the same.
There they were, but he walked away and her eyes could only say
Ulay, Ulay, Oh.

These lyrics will haunt me forever. Anways, I don’t wanna focus on the song. Going back to the book…

I can’t believe how love wasn’t enough for Will to have the will to live(pun unintended lol). At first, I was really mad at Will. How could he do that to Louisa? How could he hurt someone he claims to love? How could he say he wanted her to be happy if he’s clearly giving her an immense reason not to be? How could he even request for Louisa to be there and witness him take his own life? How could he!?!?!?!?!?

But then after a few hours of contemplating, I realized I am not in the position to judge him. If I were in the same situation, not being able to live like how I used to, not being able to do what I wanted to do, knowing I could be such a burden to the person I love, I’d be as devastated as him. If not, more.

I was just wondering why Will never said “I love you” to Louisa? Or did he? I mean, he sure did, in several different ways but I wanted him to tell her the actual words.

Until the very end, I had high hopes that Louisa would be able to change Will’s mind. I was literally crying like a baby as soon as I reached the last 50 pages of the book.. I was reading it but my mind wasn’t functioning properly anymore. All I know is that he’s gone. That Louisa’s love and effort, wasn’t enough for him to actually want to continue his life.

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Me Before You (Spoiler Alert!)

  1. I knew the ending before even reading the novel so you can imagine how hard it was for me to read it. I was literally telling myself that maybe the spoiler I read was wrong and Will wasn’t going to die in the end.

    Like

Leave a Reply

