“True friends are never apart. Maybe in distance but never in heart.” 

  
My best friend told me that there are high chances of her leaving the country by the end of this year or early next year. I was trying to hold my tears back but I broke down the moment I got home. I have always known that that day would come but I didn’t expect it to be this sooner. I know that it has always been her dream to work abroad and I am happy that it’s finally coming true. I am excited to see her bloom into the woman she has always wanted to be. She deserves to have all the success she can have in this world.

Although I can’t help but feel sad. She’s always been the first person I run to when things get hard. She’s always the first person I want to speak with when I feel alone. She always makes things easier for me. She makes me laugh. She makes me feel good when I am down. Just the thought of her leaving breaks my heart. I can’t imagine not seeing her for a long time. The fact that I work and she studies and our schedule just doesn’t match most of the times makes it a lot harder for us to see each other, how much more being miles away from her. 

I’ve always known that this is one of the painful things I have to face. I know it will come a time when my friends and I will part ways and we will have our own lives but I didn’t expect it to be this difficult to accept.

My heart tells me that distance will never tear us apart because our hearts will always be connected. No matter what happens, she will always be my best friend.

Leave a Reply

